A blessed 2012 to everyone :)

Grateful for the sun that rises to signal the start of a new day, that at every closing there is a beginning. A chapter at a time, and a new story unfolds; as we reach the last chapter, another book opens. As we look back to year 2011, I acknowledge the past experiences, both past hurts and the good times, all essential to figure out what really matters in life. In everything that’s happened whether good or bad, God’s hand is in them. Cleanse our hearts for past aches and endless rumblings, of wounds and traces of scars, renew our spirit to face a new day, for the new challenges that come our way. And thank You for the blessings of life, of family and friends, of grace and abundance, of pain to appreciate the little hopes and pleasures, of experiences that help us grow; for pulling us up when we fall and reminding us to maintain our focus on Him.

I realize that in every situation, He leads the way and it’s quite amazing how he let the pieces fall into the right places, that in Him, we can “expect the unexpected”. We might wonder why certain things has to happen, but in the process we are being molded and carved according to His will, not for His sake, but for ours. In every obstacle and in every triumph, we are encouraged to look to Him.

I remember the song that goes, ‘Change my heart, O God, let me be like You. You are the Potter, I am the clay, mold me and make me, this is what I pray…’

I’ve always thought that you can see the hand of God best in the rearview mirror. Looking back, it’s easier to understand why He placed us in the home that He did; why he permitted difficulties and pain; why He took us to different places and put us in various jobs and careers.

In my own life, I get a lot of clarity (though not perfect clarity–that’s heaven’s joy!) about the wise and loving ways of God as I reflect on the ways He has managed my journey by “the works of [His] hands” (Psalm 92:4). With the psalmist, it makes me glad and strikes a note of joy in my heart to see how often God has assisted, directed, and managed the outcomes so faithfully (Psalm 111).

Looking ahead, though, is not always so clear. Have you ever had that lost feeling when the road ahead seems twisted foggy, and scary? Before you move into next year, stop and look in the rearview mirror of the year gone by, and joyfully realize that God meant it when He said, “‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.’ So we may boldly say: ‘The LORD is my helper, I will not fear’ ” (Hebrew 13:5-6).

With the promise of God’s presence and help in mind, you can move ahead into 2012 with utmost confidence. –Joe Stowell

(Article taken from Our Daily Bread, Dec.31)

Leave a comment