The Hobbit

“Courage is not being able to take a life but knowing when to spare a life.” – Gandalf

The movie was quite long but there was not a dull moment. We watched it on a Saturday morning, the first show and with only about less than 20 in the cinema. I haven’t read the book but from the feedback of my sister before, it is a fun read. It’s actually next on my list. Though puzzled at how they made three movies out of a single book, there are parts 2 and 3 coming up.

I have watched “The Lord of the Rings Trilogy” before but the story is quite vague now. Back then I bought the book (3 in 1) but haven’t picked it up since then. It still resided on our shelves now. I do remember the characters: Frodo, Gandalf, Gollum, the elves, Lord Enron, Legolas, Sauron, the ring, but lost track of the story. I might have to watch this again to refresh my memory.

The Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins is quite afraid to take risks who already have a comfortable and serene life, but he has a big and strong heart. Suddenly his ordinary life got disrupted by an unexpected journey by Gandalf’s visit and then the dwarves came into his life as well as a series of adventures. I enjoyed the movie because it was packed with adventures. The scenes are 3D-ready, engulfed into the chase and confrontation scenes which seems to never end.

I watched the movie with my brother and sis-in-law. We caught the first showing and finished after 1pm. It’s been a long time since I stepped in a movie theatre. I’m not sure if the last was “Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows” or is it “Hunger Games”? I’m not much of a movie-goer but when given the opportunity to watch and a movie worth watching, then I’ll gladly watch. We’re not updated to the latest movie scene. Almost always have question marks hanging in my head when asked if I have seen this movie or that. We remembered that theatres used to sell tickets with free seating and no limit of crowds they allow to enter. So one time we were watching Spider Man and it was full of people that we ended up sitting on the stairs and my sister used as a rail by a stranger. You can also come in the middle of the show and watch the movie again and catch up to the part of you missed. My classmates before used to see the movie all over again. Good thing though that they limited the admission of audience to designated number of seats.

2 thoughts on “The Hobbit

  1. I haven’t seen this, and the last installment of LOTR. And also any of the Sherlock Holmes and Pirates movies… I feel that they’re extremely LONG… Haha

  2. yes they are really long. But I don’t know why, watching the hobbit didn’t make it seem that long..Haha. Oh we have watched Sherlock Holmes and the Pirates movies too, just that I hope they would stop making sequels, but seems like there’s still more to come.

Leave a Reply

