Revive

Gary Valenciano’s album Revive is very timely, even though I have been listening to this back in early 2000. This is one of the albums that we have played over and over again and glad to have took out the CD once again. My personal favourites are “I Will Be Here”, “The Warrior is a Child”, “Lupa”, “I Believe”, and “We are the Reason”. The songs are inspiring and soothing. Just like it is sang in the lyrics of I Will Be Here, “If in the dark we lose sight of love, hold my hand and have no fear, cause I will be here. I will be here when you feel like being quiet, when you need to speak your mind, I will listen. And I will be here, when the laughter turns to crying, through the winnin’, losin’, and tryin’/ we’ll be together/’Cause I will be here. I remember listening to this song performed by one of our Xue Zhang during high school JS Program. He sang while playing the piano. And it’s a nice rendition of the song. The original version is by Steven Curtis Chapman.

Everyone of us wears an armor. Some made of steel that we don’t want others to see past that. Or that we may be weak inside but they just don’t see. We are children in the eyes of God. We can run to Him everytime, it doesn’t have to be just when we need Him the most, and we’ll see that He does comfort us like a child. This is portrayed in the song “The Warrior is a Child”:

They don’t know that I come running home when I fall down
They don’t know who picks me up when no one is around
I drop my sword and cry for just awhile
But deep inside this armor the warrior is a child.

I also liked the songs “Lead Me Lord”, “Love in Any Language”, “Love is the answer”, “More than wonderful”, and “He’s Enough”. The album included a DVD featuring the making of music videos and the MV of I Will Be Here and Lupa. We were able to watch Gary V perform at a concert held in the church years ago. And we enjoyed every bit of it. He was very energetic and passionate in his performance, driving the crowd on to their feet and jamming with him.

One thought on “Revive

Leave a Reply

