Lullaby

These past few weeks has been quite busy, and I found myself searching for lullaby songs for my niece. I remember my cousin and my professor recommending Brahm’s Lullaby then, so I began looking for it at first in youtube. Then I was able to find some versions by Celine Dion and Jewel which have soothing lyrics and voices. It’s been repeatedly played now whenever my niece would be lulled to sleep. Previously, my brother used the CD I temporarily gave him to play, that was Vivaldi’s The Four Season given to me by one of our professors. I found Baby Einstein Baby Mozart and Fisher Price’s Baby Classics. Right now, I find myself listening to brahm’s lullaby as well as the other baby classics I found, playing it in the background as I work. They have a calming effect and add a bit of inspiration though the work is overloaded with some distractions along the way. I’m glad my professor and I finished the book we are editing. She said that the book form arrived today, I’m excited to see it.

Johannes Brahms’s Wiegenlied: Guten Abend, gute Nacht (“Good evening, good night”), Op. 49, No. 4,
Guten Abend, gute Nacht,
mit Rosen bedacht,
mit Näglein[N 1] besteckt,
schlupf′ unter die Deck!
Morgen früh, wenns Gott will,
wirst du wieder geweckt.

Guten Abend, gute Nacht,
von Englein bewacht,
die zeigen im Traum
dir Christkindleins Baum.
Schlaf nun selig und süß,
schau im Traum ′s Paradies.

*******************************************************************

Good evening, good night,
With roses adorned,
With carnations covered,
Slip under the covers.
Tomorrow morning, if God wants so,
you will wake once again.

Good evening, good night.
By angels watched,
Who show you in your dream
the Christ-child′s tree.
Sleep now peacefully and sweetly,
see the paradise in your dream.

********************************************************************

Lullaby and good night,
With roses bedight,
With lilies o’er spread
Is baby’s wee bed.
Lay thee down now and rest,
May thy slumber be blessed.

Lullaby and good night,
Thy mother’s delight,
Bright angels beside
My darling abide.
They will guard thee at rest,
Thou shalt wake on my breast.

Found a version of Brahm’s lullaby sang by Celine Dion. Another song where I can learn a new language, with inserts of French lyrics, aside from Simple Plan’s Jet Lag.

Lullaby by Celine Dion

Lullaby and good night
In the sky stars are bright
‘Round your head, flowers gay
Set your slumbers till day

Lullaby and good night
In the sky stars are bright
‘Round your head, flowers gay
Set your slumbers till day

Close your eyes now and rest
May these hours be blessed
Close your eyes now and rest
May these hours be blessed

Bonne nuit cher enfant
Dans tes langes blancs
Repose joyeux
En revant des cieux

Quand le jour reviendra
Tu te reveilleras
Quand le jour reviendra
Tu te reveilleras

Lullaby and good night
In the sky stars are bright
‘Round your head, flowers gay
Set your slumbers till day

And another version by Jewel:

 

Source:
( From: http://www.elyrics.net/read/c/celine-dion-lyrics/brahm_s-lullaby-lyrics.html )

and wikipedia

Video from youtube

Leave a Reply

