NR

I learned this initials from my cousin. It means No Response. Usually when we ask about something from our parents we receive an NR. But if you don’t respond to their questions, you’d feel their temper rising. So yes, you have to provide a quick response. I remember when we were little we used to just shrug to imply “ewan ko”, because no matter what you say would just be a mistake or wrongly put. And there was a time that it was very common for people to just shrug off when they don’t know or just don’t want to think anymore. But then it comes with a warning, so we have to come up with something to say or a decision has to be made. At some point, I have picked up this NR thing…not responding anything to statements that require your forced agreement. It’s been a long time since I’m given advice on the blocking the information that I take in, or that I should learn the in-out method. But that is so hard to do. I tend to grasp what is being told to me. Listen intently to what the other has to say, occasionally nod and find that at times you don’t have to say anything but that they got your full attention. It’s enough for them. So I marvel at the chances I get to talk to people where the exchange is mutual, that I get to be heard too. I still want to listen even if the other party might not want to listen to what I have to say, because sometimes they just need someone to listen to them rant or express their stories in such a way that the counterpart truly hears them.

Leave a Reply

