E-books

…where the E is for espresso.

Not the shot of espresso that we get from the coffeeshop.

I’ve read an article on Bloomberg entitled, On Demand Books Bets on Authors Who Want to Print Their Own Paperbacks.
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-02-13/on-demand-books-bets-on-authors-who-want-to-print-their-own-paperbacks.html
On Demand produced the Espresso Book Machine where authors can print their own books. That’s a really great idea for writers who want to publish and doesn’t have to go through one publisher to another. And in the presence of electronic books, it’s good to know that there are still a lot of people who share the sentiment of reading a tangible book and not a digital one.

I also enjoy holding a book and reading it page by page. The idea of e-Books is very good in that it is easy to access and made available to a wide range of people. But if I were to read a book, I prefer to be able to hold it and flip the pages. In addition to that, I spend most of the time on the computer, so when I’d like to take a break I would read a book, and if it’s still electronic, I fear that my eyes could no longer handle that much strain. I already read a lot of articles on the net. Yes, reading a book is still using my eyes, but it’s less tiring for the eyes if it’s in book form. Just as sometimes I’d like to scribble something on the notepad or use longhand when I don’t have access to a computer or just waiting.

3 thoughts on “E-books

  1. Last September, I was so obsessed of buying a Kindle, I already saw my friend’s Kindle and it doesn’t seem to be heavy (glaring on) on one’s eyes. I agree that the printed version is better to feel the flipping of pages and all, but, I think it could be useful to have a Kindle for traveling🙂 I haven’t bought a Kindle yet because I have no time to read, but in the future, I would definitely consider buying one…

  2. Yeah, nothing beats flipping the pages, but it would be really handy to have a Kindle, especially when I saw my friend’s Kindle, good screen and light.

Leave a Reply

