Overlook

Whether a personal a public matter, we quickly reveal whether we possess a servant’s heart in how we respond to those who have offended us. And it isn’t enough simply to say, “Well, okay—you’re forgiven, but don’t expect me to forget it!” That means we have erected a monument of spite in our mind, and that isn’t really forgiveness at all. Servants must be big people. Big enough to go on, remembering the right and forgetting the wrong. Like the age-old saying, “Write injuries in dust, benefits in marble…”

True servants, when demonstrating genuine love, don’t keep score. Webster defines forget as “to lose the remembrance of… to treat with inattention or disregard… to disregard intentionally: OVERLOOK: to cease remembering or noticing…to fail to become mindful at the proper time.” That’s the thought.

(Taken from Charles Swindoll’s Wisdom for the Way, “Remember the Right, Forget the Wrong”)

I realized that I used to forget the past hurts easily because I don’t mind them. I let them go and not dwell on that particular moment. Yes, I might feel angry or hurt right after the incident, but once faced with the person who has done me wrong or have offended me, I forget what happened the last time and won’t have the chance to enumerate all the wrong he or she has done. This might be what is called clean slate that we give to others unconditionally. Overlooking past mistakes and giving without expecting anything in return. That’s what I do before, and felt that I’m not carrying any excess baggage and happy as I am then. Some would say I’m too nice, but if the other person didn’t do anything wrong to me, why should I be fierce? And if people do me wrong then, I don’t get harmed because I don’t dwell in that. I might have to go back to that time when I remember the good moments and forget the hurts.

I’ve heard a saying before about writing your hurts in the sand, and let the wind blow it away. Carve the good things in stone so that you’ll remember it.

Leave a Reply

