ANIMO La Salle!

I’m grateful for the chance to be a part of the Centennial of De La Salle University.

There are a lot of celebrations this year, the 400th year of UST,  Dr. Bienvenido N. Santos’ centenary, Jose Rizal’s 150 years. I think we’re very blessed to be witnesses to centenary celebrations that would mark the history. Then we saw an ad on a truck of Eng Bee Tin (Since 1912), so next year would be their centennial.

I don’t know what would happen had I not entered La Salle, but I’m very much satisfied and happy being able to study at La Salle. The other option I had then was UST – BS Pharmacy, but since my brother was studying at DLSU, in addition to what my grandmother said, I opted to study at the same school as my brother. If I studied at UST, I might be more acquainted with dad’s colleagues; if Pharmacy didn’t work out for me (because I’m not sure if I’ll do well in Math and Science subjects), I would’ve changed course to Interior Design since I love to draw. Plus, dad would be very happy because it’s his alma mater and the place he taught for ten years. But there are reasons why things happened the way they did.

Ever since I graduated, it’s like I never left the school, because I always visit the campus. I don’t have a regular job like others do. I remember what our Vice Dean then said during the CLA Recognition day, that is to go out and establish ourselves in our field of study, which I didn’t do. I remained in the school grounds working as an assistant to professors, doing project-based work and declining offers to study M.A. or teach. My mentors would tell me, had I taken up Masters right after I graduated, I would’ve had my PhD right now. It’s my fault that I always thought of not troubling others. We have a definite schedule to follow, so as long as I could squeeze myself in, it’s okay, if not, I’ll settle for what we have. But I’m glad where I am right now. I would continue writing stories.

I think I wouldn’t have found my writing if I haven’t met my mentors and professors. Their encouragements helped me a lot to find at least one certain path in my life. During college, I didn’t participate in any writing contest, unlike budding writers who write for the paper, join the school journal, join writing competitions, and write online. I just pass the papers required in class, and there I am able to compose some stories, essays and scholarly articles. I would make cards and write dedications for my family before, and then for stories, I would just scribble in notepads (that’s why right now I have a lot of documents to sort). I remember one senior classmate who told me that I have a talent in writing and I should start writing a blog.  He read a reflection paper we submitted for a theology class. I was too shy to write online and so I didn’t have many entries until the site deleted my account. Now, I started blogging again. I think this helped me to have discipline in writing and also in the course of writing I’ve unlocked more things to write about. As I explore through my old experiences and harvesting new ones I discover more stories to record.

I’m still an introvert but college life has let me meet a lot of people. And my principle stands true, to not judge people based on what others say or what they appear to be; whereas people would remind me that I shouldn’t be too nice because people might take advantage of me. There are many who just needs a bit of encouragement and you’ll see that their not bad and they could do a lot better if people just believed in them. I do believe that if you treat others well, they would do the same; but I also learned to weigh the different personalities of people.

One of the most memorable projects we had was a Radio Play we did as a whole class. Everyone worked together, from the scripts, practices, actors and crews. It was raining that day when we had the play, the streets were flooded and our venue was at UP Diliman. We feared that people won’t make it because of the traffic and weather conditions. But we’re glad that our family and friends (mostly, we invited people close to us) and other guests arrived at the theatre. The audience enjoyed the show which comprised of three dramas. We all earned 4.0 for that Final Exam. But more than that, we enjoyed the teamwork and cooperation of the whole class, and were proud to put up a program even just for a night.

Our classes whether minor subjects and major ones opened up my eyes to different issues, such as in our gender class, thanks to our professor, Pam. The History of Civilization class proved to be a valuable one too under Dr. Ugarte; then I enjoyed our Philosophy class under Sir Unson where our minds were stirred up with mind-boggling questions that have no definite answers; in Theology classes, under Dr. Monera’s class we even learned a few Greek words and how to recite “Our Father” in Greek. Rels 3 and 4 have community service, where we went to a community in Singalong and taught kids there. Psychology is also one interesting class and right now I’m having fun reading books under this subject. I also had fun in our Chemistry classes, both the lecture and the lab, where I found out that I could actually do well in Chemistry.

I learned multi-tasking because of the trimester system. In our course, we don’t have the usual final exam, but then every major subject has its final project that we have to accomplish before Final’s week. Most of them are video projects and documentation. Then every minor subject has a final paper that we have to submit or some project we have to work on. We learned how to juggle everything and manage the time we have in our hands and accomplish the tasks we are bound to do. There is no excuse that you couldn’t comply to one because it coincided with another project. The important thing is to be able to deliver on time and with a quality work.

I didn’t join much organization then, because our schedule was linked together, and it was home-school, school-home. But I did join a few, like the Rotaract club where I was able to participate in a few community service activities. Then I got selected to be a Batch Rep (which I didn’t run for). This was the first time that I joined in the recycling activity, where we went door-to-door at the houses at Alabang and asked for used newspapers and bottles. The ones we collected were weighed in at a junk shop, and the funds we earned were contributed to the fund of the batch.

La Salle has given me a well-rounded education and many memories to look back to, and still to create.

I’m happy how things turned out for the some people I know. Some have studied or worked abroad, some have already become celebrities, joined the news team or TV stations, travelled to different places, 真心的祝褔他們!

It’s amazing how time flies, how the walls that broke down are sturdy once again. I’m grateful for the people that held the campus together, from the President, the Admin, to the professors and the staff, to the people in the cafeteria, to security personnel, janitors and gardeners, photocopying operators, librarians, bookstore personnel, engineers, etc.

I’m grateful for the professors who poured their hearts in teaching the students and those that take extra time to mentor their students; for the La Sallian Brothers who never forget to share a smile or a greeting to those they meet; for Bro. Armin for praying for the students and the University that makes each and every one important to him; for the secretarial staff of the departments and the offices, for the ate and kuya’s, manong and manang’s  at the cafeteria, Charley of Java Café (inside Animo Foodhuas); the security guards that are at the gates and those that roam around campus to ensure the safety of the La Sallian community, the janitors, gardeners and engineers, the photocopier ladies at their post. Cheers to everyone that make up the La Sallian community.

Happy 100 years!

Leave a Reply

