Mind games

I learned that it’s not easy to carry a conversation especially when the other side is not ready to listen; or if ever the other person is listening, it doesn’t equate to being heard.

I learned that people become edgy when they don’t comprehend what you are trying to convey; the same goes with when at the speaker’s part, he doesn’t get understood.

I learned that people love to hear gossips and are all ears when you have some scoop to share that they will also be able to tell others. That would definitely get your full attention, even when told to others would be a much different version, but then that’s how word gets around.

I learned to accept that some people prefer to listen and believe a certain group or their so called confidants; but when it comes to people really close to them who tell them the same thing is still deemed doubtful/questionable.

I learned that you can’t win an argument by focusing on what you believe; it’s a give-and-take relationship, even when you’re usually on the giving end.

I’ve learned that reading up does help me gain more knowledge on different subjects, even if when pointed out won’t still hold as a strong argument. At least for me, I found an answer and an explanation to the inquiry.

I learned that you have to read between the lines to get some concrete answer, or get the gist of the information being relayed to you.

Sometimes, the absence of an outright no means it’s still negotiable or still under study.

I observed that sometimes it’s not that your proposition got opposed; it’s just that they weren’t paying attention at the time. So yes, you have to rerun the details with them.

I learned that patience does pay off, even if nothing’s been resolved when the sun has gone down; the sun will rise again tomorrow – another chance to sign the contract.

I learned that sometimes giving out relevant information (maybe a story) that the other doesn’t know could help clear things up, the misconceptions and at times resolving the conflict itself. There would be a chance that another person would be cleared of the burden of misnomers.

I learned that if you found out some secret (problem), it would be pretty awkward to face that person involved in the issue.

I learned that at times it is better to remain silent and not share what you know. Chances are they would be skeptical about it or it might destroy the image of another person (If it did on your side, then it would probably affect the person). It’s just that it’s so bothersome that some speak too highly of a person and you can’t reveal what you know.

I learned not to rely too much or expect on people who won’t save you; that you have to save yourself sometimes;

But I did also learn that there are people who would stand up for you through thick and thin.

2 thoughts on “Mind games

  1. “I learned that at times it is better to remain silent and not share what you know” I have learned a lot of family dirty secrets (from the adulteries, love child, to the divas and crazy behavior of some) from our family staff. I’m not sure about the accuracy of the stories. Thus, an accused is innocent until found guilty. *I’m not sharing!

    1. I know. And I agree. There were times that I want to defend someone but chose not to say anything because I don’t know the whole story. I don’t have firsthand knowledge of what happened or the keys to resolve some of the conflict. I try to weigh what I’m going to say when asked about a sensitive topic or something trivial. Many times I become the middleman and it’s not easy to have a fall out or a breach in the relationships of the people that I work with.

Leave a Reply

