Progress

Post a day/week has helped me have a disciplined time of writing. I may not post everyday,  but having a blog reminds me that there is a place I can write something to, and I can post anytime something comes through my mind. Sometimes, I would write a draft on a paper or on a word file then piece it in together for a new post. In the process of writing, I begin to explore different ideas to write about that I haven’t tried before. I don’t get to write everyday in the past because sometimes I don’t know what to write about and I just stare at the blinking cursor for several minutes and then move on to the next task at hand. But this time, I allot time for writing my stories, blog entries and realized that writing everyday is a good practice. I can turn meaningful events into words or write down interesting finds and experiences. I hope to continue writing and not lose the spirit. Later on, I could always look back to what I’ve written and probably when the need arises, I can even harvest ideas from the things that I’ve recorded here.

In my experience, writing really needs discipline. There are stories that I’ve been writing and haven’t completed yet because I jump to the next one without finishing it. Having deadlines helped me accomplish a story in time for the submission. In the future, I hope to complete the stories earlier so that I won’t cram at the last minute. Updating this blog helped me find my pace in writing and I’m better at controlling distractions.

One time, I was trying to come up with a title for a short story that I am going to write. I was enumerating a lot of ideas which turned out to be of the animal kingdom. I think a title helps me a lot to focus on what to write, so it was really important for me to come up with one. Even if it is just temporary, because I could always replace it in the middle of writing the story or at the end. I did write down the titles I’ve thought about, because they might be useful later on, and if not for this story maybe for the other stories I would write.

Another progress I’ve been making would be finally finished reading Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series. I had a lot of fun reading all the five books. The lines are witty, the characters very alive, and the adventures are definitely worth your while. I remembered Percy Jackson’s dyslexic condition when I mistakenly typed a person’s name yesterday when I emailed her an inquiry my mom told me to write. I read ‘Neli’ as ‘Neil’ and so I addressed her as Mr. It’s a good thing she didn’t take it personally, two errors there already, the Mr. and the name. I’ll try to be more careful next time.

Leave a Reply

